设备

 

达伦在2001年8月购买了巴拉瑞特的‘森林马场’,之后对其进行了大规模的装修和扩建,使其成为了杰出的训练中心。达伦总是寻找新的方式来更新的设施,探求充分利用各种设备。在赛马场的另一边有一个从巴拉瑞特赛马俱乐部租赁的小型马厩,主要用来进行预备训练。位于瓦南布尔(Warrnambool)的训练中心有海滩和水中走步机,对训练也十分重要。

保证马匹和员工的安全,确保马匹得到最佳的护理并创造令其愉悦的环境,是该训练机构的至上宗旨

 

 

 


 

上坡跑道

 

 

在巴拉瑞特训练中心最重要的因素是能够使用这个1400米长的人造直上坡跑道。这个跑道具有多个优势:它的表面非常适合预备训练,没有弯道,两边是自然景观,上坡也有益于马的腿。巴拉瑞特赛马俱乐部还在坡上每隔200米处装置了计时、摄像头和照明系统,为练马师提供了了解马匹训练表现的各种必要信息。

 

 

 

 

 


 


 

设有跳跃横木的小跑场

 

 

达伦修建了一个功能齐全的小跑场,设有各种大小不一的跳跃横木。这个区域主要用来进行赛马的跑前热身。这里低矮的跳跃对锻炼马的平衡,让马把注意力集中到训练上来十分有效。而高大的横木则通常用于障碍赛马在跳跃灌木和横杆前的热身运动。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

障碍训练道

 

在巴拉瑞特和瓦南布尔的障碍训练道设有横木,灌木丛和横杆,达伦用来训练和放松障碍赛马。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

跑步机

 

跑步机是一个非常不错的训练设备,具有多重优点:跑步机降低了马的关节承担的震荡压力,可以用于训练受伤后刚开始恢复训练的赛马,这样它们就无需承担骑手的重量,也可以用来训练有鬐甲/背部伤痛的马,这样它们就可以在不用背负骑手的条件下进行充分的锻炼。达伦还可以用跑步机来近距离观察马的训练情况,查看马对奔跑的反应如何。当然了,还可以通过调整跑步机的速度和坡度来改变训练强度,进行非常有针对性的训练项目。巴拉瑞特和瓦南布尔的马厩都设有多台跑步机。

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

走步机

 

达伦在巴拉瑞特主马厩,预备训练马厩和瓦南布尔的马厩分别设有3台、1台和1台走步机。走步机用于进行马匹的预备训练或赛后放松运动。

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

游泳池

 

 

 

巴拉瑞特训练中心的游泳池是一个天然的水库,中间有一个用来牵马的走步桥。游泳池中无任何化学药剂,而且有天然的下坡边缘和高架栅栏,比其它的游泳池要安全得多。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

海滩

 

 

在巴拉瑞特的海滩对达伦的马匹训练及管理都至关重要。各种深度的沙滩,以及自然形成的松软和较硬的沙滩,为马匹提供一个天然的锻炼场地,而且对它们的关节和肌腱也起到保护作用。完成了在海滩上的训练后,马还可以到水里腾跃冲浪,在减轻对腿部压力的同时进行了更多的锻炼。同时,海滩也能改善马的精神状态。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

水中走步机

 

设在瓦南布尔的水中走步机是一个非常好的训练工具。这个工具能在锻炼马匹肌肉的同时降低对腿部和关节的压力,因此对伤后恢复训练的马匹开始参加锻炼,或治疗现有的伤病,都尤其有效。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

斗牛场

 

斗牛场为初到围场中参加训练的马提供了一个非常好的场地。员工可以先让马匹在这里撒撒欢,然后骑马训练。 刚受过初调的马是在这个斗牛场首次被骑的。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

各类围场

 

我们拥有各种大小的围场,以满足每一匹马的需要。

Facilities

 

Darren purchased the main Ballarat establishment Forest Lodge in August 2001 and has since completed major renovations and extensions to develop it into a training centre of excellence.  Darren is always looking for new ways to update the facilities to utilise them to their full potential. There is a smaller stable on the other side of the racetrack which is leased from the Ballarat Turf Club and used primarily as a pre-training facility. The training complex at Warrnambool is significant for its access to the beach and water walker.

The utmost priority for all the facilities is to uphold safety for both horses and staff and to ensure that the horses receive the best care available and are happy in their environment.

 

 

 


 

Hill Track 

 

 

The most significant aspect of training at Ballarat is access to the straight 1400m uphill synthetic track. What makes this track so good for the horses is the Pro-Ride training surface, the lack of turning, and the natural landscape on the incline which is great for the horse’s legs. The Ballarat Turf Club has also installed timing, cameras and a lighting system every 200m up the hill which provides trainers with all necessary information on the training performance of their horse.

 

 

 

 

 


 


 

Trotting ring with jumping logs

 

 

Darren has built a fully functional trotting ring equipped with many different sized jumping logs. This area is mainly used to warm the horses up before riding out. The smaller jumps are great for teaching balance and getting a horse to switch on and focus in their work. The larger logs are usually used as a warm-up for the jumpers before taking them out to the schooling lane over the steeples and hurdles.

 

 

 

 

 


 

Schooling lane

 

The schooling lane at both Ballarat and Warrnambool is equipped with logs, steeples and hurdles for Darren to train and refresh his jumpers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Treadmills

 

Treadmills are a terrific training tool for a number of reasons. The treadmill reduces the concussive forces on a horse’s joints, they can be used for horses coming in after an injury to start their training without the added weight of a rider on their back, or for a horse with a sore wither/back as it removes the need for a rider whilst still giving them a good workout. Treadmills can also be used so Darren can see how the horse handles a gallop while providing a close up view of the horse working. Of course the intensity of the horse’s workout can be adjusted by altering the speed and incline of the treadmill to the exercise program can be very specific. There are numerous treadmills located at both Ballarat stables and at Warrnambool.

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Walkers

 

Darren has 3 walkers at the main Ballarat stable, 1 walker at the pre-training stable and 1 walker at Warrnambool. The walkers are used to exercise the horses either pre- or post-workout.

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Pool

 

 

 

The pool at Ballarat is a natural dam with a walking bridge in the middle to lead the horses around. No chemicals are used in the pool and it is much safer than other pools due to the natural sloping edges and high closed in fences.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Beach

 

 

The beach at Warrnambool is vital to Darren’s training and management of his horses. The varying depths of sand, and of course the normal variations of soft and firm sand, give horses a natural ground to work on and is kind on their joints and tendons. Once they are finsihed working along the beach the horses can then go for a surge through the water which gives them a further workout while keeping the pressure off their legs. The beach can be very mentally stimulating for the horses too. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Water Walker

 

The water walker at Warrnambool is a terrific training tool. It is especially useful as a method of introducing exercise after a horse returns from injury, or for managing an existing injury, as it builds up muscle whilst keeping pressure off the legs and joints.

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Bull Ring

 

The bull ring is a great place for the horses to go when they first come into work out of the paddock. The staff can give the horses a lunge and let them kick up their heels before riding. The bull ring is also used for first rides on young horses that

are straight from the breakers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Yards, Boxes and Paddocks

 

We have a variety of well sized boxes and yards to suit the individual need of every horse.